COVER GIRL: JACQUE MARIBE

Hello!

I know it’s been awhile.

I feel like I should reintroduce myself lest I become a stranger. Anyway, been really busy with work. This year I wanted to put more focus on my styling job and building my brand as a fashion stylist and it’s been crazy. But y’all know this is home and no matter how long I stay away, I must always come back.

Sometime last month I got a call from the editor of Salon Solutions Magazine asking me if I could come on board and style the cover model for their February issue.

No brainer.

Of course I did.

I got really excited when I heard the cover model was going to be Citizen TV political reporter Jacque Maribe.

I mean, what are the odds?

Your first print job and you are styling a big media personality who has lately been in the news as the reporter who got a one-one interview with the president and practically moved around with him for days covering his movements.

12644926_1156965207666618_7159965308764370864_n

You know that had to be the doing of the Most High.

This God of mine :).

Because of her busy schedule, it was a last minute call and I had one day to prepare her outfits. I hadn’t met her in person and I just worked with the little info I had.

On the afternoon before the shoot day I called up my stockists and designers, rushed to town and hoped I’d find something I could use for her spread.

By virtue of the fact that we always see her in plain, body con dresses, I wanted to give her something different from what we are accustomed to seeing and luckily I found some stuff. It was even better when I met her the day of the shoot and she was open to just being my mannequin and doing as I instructed her. This girl is good. You know the way we always have this preconceived notions about people in the public eye, mostly negative, well, she is far from it. She was so easy to be with. We talked, we laughed, she was obedient, no airs. I wouldn’t mind working with her again. She is every stylists’ dream coz trust me, some times we get quite stubborn clients.

LOOK 1

Dress: Afrostreet by Melanie

Bangles: Jya Onyango

Shoes: Maggys Collection

GIL_5732

GIL_5720

GIL_5693

LOOK 2

Outfit: Afrostreet by Melanie

Accessories: Jya Onyango

Shoes: Maggys Collections

In this look I improvised the accessories to serve as a top by layering two beaded neck pieces atop each other.

GIL_5754

GIL_5788

GIL_5782

GIL_5808

LOOK 3

Dress & Shoes: Maggys Collections

Earrings: Pryde Artz

GIL_5845

GIL_5838

GIL_5855

LOOK 4

Dress: Prada – Stylists’ Own (For Sale)

Shoes: Maggys Collections

Earrings: Pryde Artz

GIL_5870

GIL_5882

GIL_5887

GIL_5889

LOOK 5

Vest Coat: Maggys Collections

Vest: Stylists’ Own

Skort: Afrostreet by Melanie

Shoes: Maggys Collections

Accessories: Jya Onyango

GIL_5919

GIL_5943

GIL_5920

CREW

Publication: Salon Solutions Magazine

Hair: Jeff Ndunda

Makeup: Domiana Muiga

Stylist: Winnie Odande

Photographer: Jose Thome

Editor: Lilian

Location: The Manor 540

GIL_5748

GIL_5749

Thank you for your patience in waiting for the photos and for all who cheered me on when I did the issue. Y’all are the real MVPs.

Which is your favourite look?

How different would you style it?

Let me know.

As always, for any styling jobs, personal shopping services and/or collaborations, feel free to contact me via mail: fitndiscover@gmail.com.

Till next, keep it #TeamWinnie.

Cheers!

20 comments

  1. Akuku Wandera · February 18, 2016

    I am happy for you. Establishing a niche in the Kenyan fashion scene is not easy especially with the the bias and discrimination in it. Fight it out girl you will prove ‘them’ wrong.

    • FitnDiscover · February 18, 2016

      Thank you Akuku. It’s a challenge but trusting God to see me through.

  2. Elle · February 19, 2016

    You really did a good job dear. Way to go.
    http://www.proudlyelled.com

  3. Scott Mitchell · February 19, 2016

    She’s such a beauty and I love the designs

  4. babzzie · February 23, 2016

    I love love love looks 2 & 5. They have just the right amount of character without going overboard. The idea of using the necklaces as a top is very creative 🙂

    • FitnDiscover · February 23, 2016

      Thank you Babzzie! Appreciate you dropping by.

  5. thecherriesv · February 25, 2016

    1st look and the 4th look are a win!!! I love how bubbly she looks. Great work Winnie, keep going 🙂
    http://cherriesvineyard.com/

  6. phiemyndz · February 26, 2016

    One word #WOW!

  7. Jean · March 23, 2016

    This is great. You guys did such a great job.

  8. dadson_kariuki_ · April 19, 2016

    First look was a killer!

  9. benardtheblessed · May 8, 2016

    Wow!!Congratulations on that achievement. The sky is not your limit but your launching pad fitndiscover love your pics. Look 3 and 5 do it for me. Keep Shining.#Philippians 4:13.
    https://Suitup55.wordpress.com.

  10. thevoicekidsme · August 20, 2016

    Awesome girl

Leave a Reply

