PARADIGM SHIFT

See what I did there? πŸ™‚

It’s 3 days to Christmas, who stole some of the days of the year because I don’t get how 2015 has gone this fast.

It was just my birthday the other day and come January I’ll be an year older again.

Anyway, let the days roll we’ll glide with them.

So, this year has seen me develop a love for shift dresses and shirt dresses. I don’t own many of them but I intend to stock up on them. I love the minimalist vibe they have and that most times they don’t require much work you just throw on your accessories, a nice pair of heels or sandals and you are good to go.

2b

The reason they are called shift dresses is that they actually shift by virtue of the fact that they are never tight. They tend to be loose fit at the waist and hips unlike their cousins sheath dresses which are body-clinging. The only similarity is their length which is always knee-length or slightly above the knee.

2c

The first shift dresses were worn in the 1920s and got revived in the 60s and they are back again showing you just how fashion is cyclic and no need to jump into trends just find what works for you and your body type.

As for me, this gem from Store 66 – Fashion just did it for me.

2d

Shoes: Thrifted

I promised to talk about my hair.

If you remember I had a fro when I went for this shoot as seen here but then Jeff, my hair stylist fixed this pre-done twist-out braids with pins that were supposed to just see me through the shoot but I have actually stayed with them for a whole week.Β  A testament of his prowess.

2f

Photos: @sammuthami

Editing: Me πŸ™‚

MUA: Domiana

It’s been an exciting year and I wish you a blessed Christmas filled with God’s goodness and a proper understanding of what Christmas really means.

There will be one final post the week after Christmas before we call it a year.

Keep your eyes peeled.

#FnD

Winnie.

5 comments

  1. Crystal Olisa · December 26, 2015

    I love the printhe in this! I love anything baggy so this is def a favourite 😊

    • FitnDiscover · December 26, 2015

      Funny thing is I actually thought of you with this look :-).

  2. Meron Dymphana · January 27, 2016

    Shift dresses and shirt dresses are amazing because they are forgiving on those day that one has a bloated stomach or when something fitting does not tickle your fancy. I love the shoot location. You look dashing doll!
    http://www.fashionstylemogul.com

    • FitnDiscover · January 27, 2016

      ha! You can say that again or when you are just going for a minimalist approach. Thank you for dropping by.

Leave a Reply

