SHADOWS x SILHOUETTES

Morning darlings!

Where do I start?

Blogging sure is work, you doubt, try it.

If you are in business like me, think of blogging as a start-up.

You are the administrator, creative director, manager, accountant, marketer, location scout etc.

Not forgetting that you still have to come up with content that will keep your readers glued and will attract the brands you want to help steer your blog in the right direction.

Blogging is work.

IMG-20151214-WA0002

And of course one of the main challenges we face is photography. Getting that one photographer you can grow with and rely on is quite a daunting task and for those who have the means and will to learn, we end up buying our cameras and just doing it ourselves.

It may not come out as perfect as the pros but it’s a step and at least you can work at your convenience. Then we have those times when the end product isn’t exactly what you were expecting and you are torn between putting up a sub-standard product or withholding it till you can do a better job or just doing away with it altogether.

They say when life gives you lemon make a lemonade.

IMG-20151214-WA0004

That is what I tried to do with these photos and they may not be all that but I’m pretty proud of myself that for the first time, I have edited my own photos for the blog. Something I had to do overnight and just try figure out what is what. I know there may be an issue with colour correction, exposure, et al but hey, I made a step.

Here’s to learning, growing and becoming better.

2016 can only be better.

A shadow is cast against a light and there is a beauty and mystery in silhouettes that I have grown to love.

So don’t be scared by your shadow, it only serves to show that your path is well-lit.

Reflect on it.

Photos: Sam Muthami

ss1

ss2

ss4

ss5

Outfit: Store 66 – Fashion

Shoes – Thrifted

Hair – Jeff (0711 852 408)

MUA: Domiana (0724 233 477)

Location: The Manor 540

Don’t you just love how this look stands out without trying too hard? I love the tie and dye skirt and the cowl-neck detail on the blouse. The fact that this look can also transition from day – night and pass for different occasions makes it a win for those times when you have a coupla events lined up for the day and no time to change.

For the bloggers reading this, I would love to hear some of the challenges you’ve faced this year, how they’ve held you back and what you will do differently come next year.

Drop me a comment and follow me on IG too: @fitndiscover.

Happy New Week.

Winnie.

14 comments

  1. Elle · December 22, 2015

    Way to go Winnie. This us amazing.. You did a good job with the photos . Happy new week hun and Merry Christmas :-).
    http://www.proudlyelled.com

    • FitnDiscover · December 22, 2015

      Thank you Elle. We owe it to ourselves to stretch ourselves beyond what’s comfortable.

  2. Okaka Felix · December 22, 2015

    I admire you Winnie.. I can give you a crash course on editing after Christmas festivities…Yes?

    • FitnDiscover · December 22, 2015

      Thanks Okaks. I will appreciate it. Thank you 👊🏾

  3. Jackie · December 22, 2015

    Progress is the key. Loved how you pointed out blogging is like a startup, we work crazy hours , breakdowns, disappointments which all ends up as a way of making us better.Keep on keepin on.

    • FitnDiscover · December 22, 2015

      I know, some day we’ll look back at this and be like, “It was well worth it.”

  4. Wangu · December 22, 2015

    Blogging is hard work.. Not just fashion blogging but I believe all kinds of blogging.
    Congrats on learning how to edit your pictures.. Greatness awaits 😀

  5. Scott Mitchell · December 22, 2015

    Great work Winnie!

  6. Pingback: CARDIGAN vs PULL-OVER | fitndiscover
  7. Crystal Olisa · December 26, 2015

    I love the outfit, very chic! Also I want that skirt 😊

Leave a Reply

