Designer vs. Stylist

So the other day I bumped into an old guy pal and in the middle of pleasantries he inquired what I was up to nowadays. I told him I’m a stylist and a blogger. Then he went on to exclaim, “Ah! You design stuff?” I quickly jumped in and was like no. I’m a stylist. There’s a difference between a stylist and a designer, and no, it’s not just the spelling :).

DSC_2547

I once did a post where I was demystifying fashion styling in layman’s terms.

You can read it here.

But due to the number of times I get that question, I feel like I need to reiterate the point.

So now, allow me to re-introduce myself.

DSC_2524

My name is Winnie Odande and I am a fashion stylist.

Who is a fashion stylist you may ask?

A fashion stylist is someone who selects clothing and accessories for a fashion advertisement or editorial.

There are many different types of potential clients for a stylist. For example, a celebrity may hire a stylist to dress them for a red carpet event or for their private life and plain Jane down the street may also need a stylists’ services. The job description varies widely as some stylists work on exclusive projects like music videos, acting as a costume designer to create one-of-a-kind looks for the star.

DSC_2544

Fashion designers on the other hand, create clothing, and they may not necessarily be great stylists. They typically sketch the item or outfit, create the pattern, pick out the fabric and trimmings, sew the garment, and fit the garment to the individual.

DSC_2526

As a stylist, I also get to work with the everyday guy/woman assisting in the streamlining of their closet, finding their personal style, restructuring their wardrobe, educating them on the best colors and shapes for their body, personal shopping, etc. I do not make/sew clothing myself. However, I have a slight understanding of garment construction as seen here, the specific fabrics that hide flaws, and which shapes are flattering for which body types. Once in awhile I will indulge in DIY projects which do not qualify me being called a designer though they may be something a designer can make.

DSC_2566

I hope we are now on the same page and next time I say I’m a stylist you will immediately understand what I’m saying and what I’m about.

Still on that Nyeri vibe at Sangare Country Homes & Resort. I went for a preppy look complimenting my outfit with that of my photographer to give off a crisp and polished finish.

I loved how our looks just blended together and the colours were amazing. Like they say, bold men wear pink.

DSC_2574

DSC_2577

DSC_2581

DSC_2586

DSC_2588

DSC_2594

DSC_2602

DSC_2608

Bear with me, I know this was a long post. I think it should be enough for the whole weekend right?

As always. styling by me.

For personal or editorial styling services, contact me via email: fitndiscover@gmail.com.

Shirt Dress: Becksville Trends | MUA: Louise Kamina | Photography: Vince Njuguna

Enjoy!

Winnie!

6 comments

  1. Mercy · September 25, 2015

    Some people get confused,your explanation is very clear,nice post Winnie and oh!the pics are beautiful

    • FitnDiscover · September 25, 2015

      Thanks Mercy & thank you for the love all this tim

      • Mercy · September 25, 2015

        Anytime dear

  2. Felma · October 2, 2015

    I like how simply you elaborated the difference.

  3. Pingback: Just Because! | fitndiscover

Leave a Reply

