HAREM SUIT!

‘Fashion is what you’re offered four times a year by designers. And style is what you choose.’ 

Lauren Hutton

_MG_4223The fashionable woman wears clothes. The clothes don’t wear her.’

 Mary Quant

_MG_4279

Those two quotes pretty much sum up how I felt in this look. It’s always a hassle getting the right jumpsuit fit and trust me when you do, you don’t want to let go. I love jumpsuits to death, I swear by them. And I think this one is elegant enough to even replace the LBD, yes I said it.

Jumpsuits are a perfect alternative for those people who are into pants and are scared to do dresses or skirts yet want a different look, or for the person going for that minimalistic look with a touch of class. What I love about them is that they also work for different body shapes all you need to do is get one that is the perfect fit for you.

As I always say, it’s all about proportions.

_MG_4262

_MG_4280

I especially loved this particular one because of the harem twist. I mean, how often would you get such a jumpsuit? And then the design on the tummy ensures that any bulge is hidden beneath the fabric accentuating your waistline. I don’t know if any of you noticed that I wore tights beneath the suit? No, it’s not part of the outfit.

The jumpsuit has this overlay thing going on that would leave you exposing your thighs all the way up and so to counter it, I thought to spice it up with the tights instead of using pins to hold the fabric in place.

I first wore this when I was invited for the live screening of Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards (AMVCA) at Mama Ashanti Restaurant in February. Back then, I wore it without the tights and it’s why I thought of giving it a new look this time.

As always, my photographer Moreh of Eighty Eight Pictures was amazing and Becksville Trends made my day with this outfit, all I had to do was add on a statement neck-piece by Jya Jewel and Design and voila, we had a winner.

And because the look had black and gold accents, I paired it with this ankle-strap heels from MIMI Online Shop to finish it off.

_MG_4287

_MG_4266

_MG_4258

_MG_4259

 This coat has been seen before here.

_MG_4227

Would you wear this type of jumpsuit and what do you think of the tights improvisation, hit or miss?

Follow me on Instagram —> @fitndiscover.

Have a great week ahead.

Cheers!

Winnie!

10 comments

  1. Deedee Murigi · August 3, 2015

    I love love this look.
    You slayed it.

    http://wairimumurigi.blogspot.com

  2. Cara Siskova · August 3, 2015

    Simply beautiful! Love the statement jewellery. Very elegant!

    • FitnDiscover · August 3, 2015

      Thanks Cara! The girl who makes them is quite talented.

  3. Mercy · August 4, 2015

    I have one like this,the tights tip is awesome.looking good ma

  4. Elle · August 19, 2015

    You rocked them so well that I’m inspired.Looking great.
    www,proudlyelled.com

    • FitnDiscover · August 19, 2015

      Thank you Miss Elle! Love your style too. 🙂

  5. Meron Dymphana · September 16, 2015

    This jumpsuit is so unique but I have never seen any other like this one till I visited your blog!!! All I need to do is locate you and steal it cz it’s definitely a show stopper. Awesome ensemble right there with he coat, chain and shoes.
    fashionstylemogul.com

    • FitnDiscover · September 16, 2015

      lol! Thanks & I can return the favour with your gladiator heels, yes?

Leave a Reply

