STYLING: Skinny Girl’s Cheat Sheet!

Good Morning Minions!

Exactly a week ago I was on set on an up-coming fashion TV show sharing my two cents as the designated fashion expert for the day. It was quite some fun though a bit nerve-wrecking at the same time seeing that it was my on-screen debut and I think I kinda fumbled with words but hey, it’s how we grow aye?

To be honest, I got the confirmation call a few hours to the show (read the night before) and I had to come up with something real quick. I was given an open cheque on the topic and I chose to walk the road less travelled.

Many a focus has been given on the plus-size lady and how she needs to dress or how to give the illusion of a slimmer silhouette but little to no attention has been givento us skinny chicks. The notion is that we already have it easy because of our small bodies and almost non-existent waistlines and that designers and stockists in general tend to be biased towards us when it comes to dressing, I mean look at Hollywood.

But that is further from the truth.

Le’ skinny girl got issues too bruh!

This leads me to my question, how does the skinny girl achieve a fuller look when it comes to dressing????

The million dollar question!

1. Invest in A-line/Roundย Skirts

image

You can never go wrong with this. In fact, I think the person who came up with this trend was in a similar dilemma and voila, a eureka moment. Because of the nature of these outfits, you are assured of some added volume to your general look since they tend to accentuate your waist and give the illusion of a more rounded/curvy look.

2. Horizontal Stripes

image

You all have heard this. Vertical stripes make you look slimmer and horizontal stripes, well I think the way they just go round n’ round serve to make you look all rounded up ๐Ÿ˜œ. It’s all about the optical illusion.

3. Wear Fabric with Structure

image

By this I mean fabric that because of their feel and texture they are abit voluminous e.g. fur, wool and plaid. This will serve to hide the fact that you are small/skinny while giving you a fuller look without them being over-bearing.

4. Layer Up

imageI bet you never thought of layering as a way of masking the obvious. The trick is to do it right to avoid looking dowdy. Start with a lighter fabric, add on a lighter cardi preferably with color, thrown in a coat and scarf and you are good to go. Ideally, it would be nice if all the layered pieces are of different textures to avoid it looking bulky.

5. Play with Prints

image

Small prints, big prints, tiny prints. Make prints your best friend. The fact that they are busy and all over take away from the fact that you are skinny giving the perfect distraction from your body to your outfit, as it should be.

6. Skater Dress

image

Their fit and flare nature are a skinny girls’ answered prayer. You get to to enjoy both worlds- flaunt your tiny waist and get a boost on the curves :).

You may also want to avoid wearing clingy fabrics and an all black look which tends to make you look more slimmer.

These are are all looks I have featured on the blog over time and it just goes to show you that I actually believe my own message i.e. I do what I recommend as far as styling is concerned, where applicable. Find what works for you and werk it.

Also note that this is not to say you hate your body but it is all about in-depth understanding of your body and knowing how to dress it.

Do tell me if this has been of help and share with me what other cheat-sheets you have ๐Ÿ˜Ž in the comment section below.

Cheers!

Winnie!

17 comments

  1. merkool · June 12, 2015

    Follow me please!! Good styleโค

    • FitnDiscover · June 12, 2015

      Thank you Marc. Let me have a look at your blog ๐Ÿ‘

  2. Elle · June 12, 2015

    Congrats…I’m sure you nailed it.
    http://www.proudlyelled.com

  3. Mercy · June 12, 2015

    You said it right Winnie,no one focuses on us team skinny,this cheat sheet is very informative.

    • FitnDiscover · June 12, 2015

      You can say that again, glad you enjoyed it :).

  4. BELLA · June 12, 2015

    This is a good one.Love it

  5. sally kayally · June 12, 2015

    wow… i looove… esp the animal print… damn girl…

    • FitnDiscover · June 12, 2015

      ha! Thanks gal, for those of us who are not well endowed as you, we have to get creative ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. sally kay · June 12, 2015

    wow…i looove… esp the animal print niceee

  7. Crystal Olisa · June 15, 2015

    Love this! Great bits of advice there ๐Ÿ˜ƒ and I’m inlooove with #5 ๐Ÿ˜ƒ๐Ÿ˜ƒ

  8. Lucy muthoni · June 16, 2015

    WOW …….i love the prints and layering up.

  9. VIRGINIA MBUGUA · June 16, 2015

    WOW!!!THIS IS WONDERFUL

Leave a Reply

